Keto Eggplant Pizza

Keto Eggplant Pizza

A unique pizza this time for all Keto followers – A Keto Eggplant Pizza!! Surprised, aren’t you? So was I!I could see that the daughter was craving for something delicious. And a mom cannot see her daughter starve even if it has to be only keto and low carb so be it!  I found recipes for keto eggplant pizza and loved the idea but the rest of the recipe is my own.  Easy Keto Eggplant Pizza slices are a delicious way to enjoy the favourite flavours of typical pizza without all the bread and carbs.Believe me, I am no Pizza lover but this recipe lured me and I got sucked into the magic of eggplant pizza so much that I made a special veggie slice too for myself.

Eggplant pizzas are Keto friendly, low-carb and low-glycemic so it’s a win-win situation, isn’t it? I tried to make the pizza as healthy as possible by adding broccoli, green and red peppers boiled and shredded chicken breast and a homemade pizza sauce. If you are vegetarian you can omit the chicken and add more veggies to make an equally delectable Pizza.

Recipe for Keto Eggplant Pizza

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant cut in roundels or long

1 tbsp pink salt

2 tbsp olive oil, for brushing eggplant before roasting

1 tbsp dried Italian seasoning, for sprinkling on eggplant before roasting

Few basil leaves (optional)

1/2 cup finely grated mozzarella

Red chilli flakes

2 tbsp chopped yellow pepper

2 tbsp red pepper chopped fine

¼ cup broccoli chopped fine

½ cup boiled and shredded chicken breast

Sauce Ingredients:

2 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil

3 large garlic cloves, very finely chopped

1 small onion chopped fine

1 cup peeled and diced fresh tomatoes or 4 tbsp tomato puree

1/2 tsp dried Italian seasoning

Keto Eggplant PizzaKeto eggplant Pizza SauceEasy Keto Eggplant PizzaKeto Eggplant Pizza

Method

Cut off both ends of the eggplant; then cut it into 3/4 inch thick slices. If your eggplant is round then cut into round slices but mine was long so I cut long slices.  Spread the slices and sprinkle some pink salt generously. This is to remove excess moisture and prevent the puckering of the slices.  Let the eggplant sit with the salt on it for about 30 minutes to draw out the liquid.  Blot eggplant dry with paper towels or a clean napkin. This will also wipe off the excess salt.

Meanwhile turn on the oven to 250degrees.

While the eggplant slices are sitting, make the Pizza sauce.

In a pan add the olive oil, chopped onion and sauté. Now add the crushed garlic cloves and sprinkle some mixed herbs. Add the chopped tomatoes or tomato puree and sauté till nicely blended. I sprinkled some red chilli flakes on the sauce as we like a little spice in our food. Sprinkle a wee bit of salt on the sauce. Let the sauce simmer, adding a tablespoon or two of water if it seems dry.The daughter does not like tomato bits so I put the sauce through a blender and made a nice flavorful paste. While it was cooking she came sniffing to the kitchen saying she smelt something really nice!

Brush the eggplant on both sides with olive oil and sprinkle with dried herbs. Roast at 350F for about 15 minutes. See that the slices are not roasted until they become mushy and lose their shape as they are going to be your pizza base.

While the eggplant roasts chop your peppers, broccoli, shred the chicken and grate your mozzarella. Remove the eggplant slices from the oven and spread the sauce mixture over the eggplant pieces.

Top each with some chopped peppers, broccoli and chicken. I left the chicken out on one slice that was mine. Then top each one with a generous amount of grated mozzarella cheese. My slice had less cheese too! I put some fresh basil leaves on top for that extra bit of flavour.

Place the eggplant pizzas again into the oven, just until the cheese is melted.

Serve Keto Eggplant Pizza hot, with red pepper flakes to sprinkle on pizza if desired. Believe me, it was yummy and I should have made two slices for myself. The daughter was one happy chica with a full tummy.

If you are looking for a healthy keto dinner option then take some slices of eggplant, top with your favourite pizza toppings and dinner is done.

Keto Eggplant Pizza

If you have not visited my blog earlier do check out other easy Keto recipes like these

Keto Indian Chicken Curry

Keto Butter Chicken

Keto Murgh Kali Mirch or Keto Pepper Chicken

Keto Tomato Rice

Keto Chicken Fried Rice

Keto Chicken Biryani with Cauliflower Rice

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. lathiya says:

    Great healthy way to have alternate for pizza..delicious

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for stopping by Lathiya 🙂 My daughter is on Keto so had to keep trying new recipes.

    Like

  3. Kalpana says:

    Eggplant and Pizza….keto diets have the fanciest combos you can think of ….hahahaha….but the end product is drool worthy!! Minus the mozzarella for me!

    Like

  4. Yes, Kalpana!! Eggplant pizza and it was quite tasty if I may say so 🙂 Even i cant have too much mozzarella but in keto u need the fat

    Like

  5. Dimple says:

    Hi
    I tried ur eggplant pizza & it was delicious
    The only problem I had was the eggplant slice were not cooked properly, they were little chewy…….I cut lengthwise as I got big eggplant
    Can u tell me where did I go wrong.

    Like

    1. Hi Dimple….So sweet of you to try and revert.Really appreciate that. Even I had cut my eggplant lengthwise.Did you roast it before placing the pizza topping? You have to brush it with oil and herbs and roast it before using it as a base.Mine was quite easy and soft to eat. Or maybe your eggplant was over ripe?

      Like

      1. Dimple says:

        Thx a lot for your reply, appreciate it.
        Yes I followed your exact recipe except I made it vegetarian
        My eggplant was quite firm.
        Thx

        Like

Leave a Reply

