Keto Tomato Rice

Cooking Keto tomato rice was a novel experience for me. Tomato rice is a family favourite and nothing can beat the taste of the rice my mom used to rustle up especially for breakfast with leftover rice.My mom used black pepper powder every time she cooked Tomato rice and I guess that is what gives this recipe a unique taste. My dad would wolf down a plate and ask for a second helping. I was a very fussy eater but tomato rice was always easy enough to wipe the plate clean.

Once I was married, I wondered how it would be to cook tomato rice and if my husband would like it. As usual, he had his own take on it and asked me to add eggs to it. Then the kids came and when I was in lazy mode I would make Tomato Rice which is an easy One pot meal and can be eaten with plain yoghurt, raita, papad and pickle. Both loved tomato rice anytime and any meal.

Once they left home to study, they came back during vacation and when they had to leave home they would ask me to make tomato rice which reminded them of home. There are many happy memories intertwined with this simple recipe.

And now Keto has entered my life and my daughter wanted to eat tomato rice.

I had to make it for her now, didn’t I?

No rice can be used so again I had to make Cauliflower Rice.You can cook the rice like I cooked here or how I share below.

Recipe for Keto Tomato Rice

Ingredients for Cauliflower Rice
Cauliflower – 200 Gm

1 cup water

Pink Himalayan Salt to taste or a soup cube

Method:
Wash the cauliflower and cut the florets. Shred the florets finely using a hand chopper  or grate it.
Boil 1 cup water in a pan and add the shredded cauliflower. Add the salt or cube.Cover and cook till the rice is done.
Cauli Rice is ready. You can use it to make Chicken Fried Rice, Pulao, Biryani, Lemon Rice, Jeera Rice or Keto Tomato Rice like I am making.

For the Keto Tomato Rice

Ingredients

1 cup full Cauliflower rice

2 Tomatoes chopped finely or pureed (I used pureed)

2 tbsp Ghee

1 tsp cumin

1 green chilli

¼ tsp black pepper powder

½ tsp turmeric powder

¼ tsp red chilli powder

Fresh coriander leaves

Himalayan Pink Salt

Keto Tomato Rice

Keto Tomato Rice

Keto Tomato Rice

Method:

In a pan, heat the ghee. Add the black pepper powder, cumin, green chilli and tomato puree.

Let the tomatoes cook well. Now, add the spices one by one and stir well.

Add the salt and the Plain Rice and mix well.

Just before serving, drizzle a little ghee and garnish with fresh coriander leaves.

The Keto tomato rice is ready in a jiffy and the bowl was licked clean!

Keto Tomato Rice

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliated link. Check here to see disclosure.

 

Leave a Reply

