Kale Mushroom Quiche Cups

20170116_004429-001
Kale Mushroom Quiche Cups

Kick your Monday blues with a healthy protein packed breakfast. Having studied in a missionary school, I love everything English so much so that my dad used to say I am Anglo-Indian. Having said that I have stuck to wafer thin sandwiches or scrambled eggs and never experimented further. This morning I decided to be adventurous and make a quiche. I had eggs and mushroom in the fridge but wanted something more to add to the quiche. The kale in the backyard was whispering …eat me eat me and I was lured to snip a few leaves to power-pack my quiche. These gluten free cuties will set the mood for the week ahead.

Quiche originated in Germany and later the French and English baked them. Quiche can be served as an entrée, for lunch, breakfast or even an evening snack. It is an egg custard with any savoury additions of your choice like bacon, spinach, mushrooms, cheese or any newer recipes with more additions like I used kale.

The bake is really as simple as cooking the onions, kale and mushrooms, mixing up a simple egg base with a grated mozzarella, seasoning it all, and popping it the oven.

The egg bakes become golden and lightly browned on top when they come out of the oven and are real stunners.  I fell in love the moment I slid the golden treasures out of the muffin cups. I think I am going to make them again when my friends come over, as they look really fancy yet so easy to bake.

Easy Recipe for Kale Mushroom Quiche Cups

Ingredients:

3 large eggs

½ cup Kale chopped into ribbons

1 small onion finely chopped

4 garlic pods crushed

6 button mushrooms chopped

1/4 cup whole milk or thick cream if you are not counting your calories

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt to taste

Mixed herbs..Thyme, oregano, basil

1/4th tsp Chilli flakes (optional)

Pinch of black pepper

1/4 cup grated mozzarella cheese

2017-01-15-20-52-01520170116_004307-001

Method:

Preheat the oven at 100°F.

In a medium skillet, add the olive oil. Add the crushed garlic and chopped onions and sauté until pink. Add the chopped kale and mushrooms and cook until soft and done. Add the salt, mixed herbs and I added little chilli flakes as I like my food a little spicy.

In a bowl, beat the eggs with the milk, salt, and pepper.

Instead of baking tray or ramekins, I used silicon muffin cups. There is no need to grease them and the baked quiche just pop out neatly from them. Divide the kale-mushroom mixture evenly between the muffin cups. Add the grated mozzarella cheese on top of each. Pour the egg mixture over the top.

Put the cups on a baking tray and place in the oven and bake for 15 to 20 mins, or until the tops are golden. If you are not very sure then insert a toothpick and check if it comes clean.

Serve warm with ketchup or any sauce you like.

20170116_004228
Kale Mushroom Quiche Cups
2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank u so much Sarah :*

      Like

Leave a Reply

