WholeWheat Carrot & Cinnamon Cake

Keeping up with my baking spree, I baked this Wholewheat Carrot & Cinnamon Cake yesterday.  It is a quick, on the go cake for any occasion and I thought I’d share it with you all.

Baking per se is my bête noire but this is a really simple and quick bake. It makes for a great gift, wrapped in brown paper and tied with string, just like the good old days.

This is my very first whole wheat cake! I belong to the old school and have only ever baked the basic Flour-butter-sugar-eggs-baking powder recipe.

If you have visited my blog before, you might have noticed that baking is just not my forte. But thanks to my young friend and mentor, Ro, who has been egging me on to try out this recipe, I ventured into my first Atta cake. She also walked in with some lovely kitchen towels which we had to try. (We’re trying to learn to take better pictures, please do leave a comment with tips or suggestions that you think might help 😊).

Even before baking the cake I was expecting it to be a disaster and only until I saw it rise beautifully in the oven, did I  smile a little. I let out a huge sigh of relief only after I actually sliced it and had a bite. The cake amazed me; it was just the right texture, moist and it was scrumptious.  The carrots and the wheat flour give it a good dose of “healthy” while the aroma of the cinnamon tickles your senses. You could substitute the carrot with or add rum soaked raisins, soft Madjool dates and sprinkle chopped nuts before you pop it into the oven but I didn’t want to get too adventurous with my first foray into uncharted territory.

Recipe for Whole-wheat Carrot n Cinnamon Cake

100 gms  whole wheat flour or atta

100 gms butter

100 gms sugar or jaggery

2 eggs

170 gms carrots grated

Pinch of cinnamon powder

Pinch of baking soda

Method:

  1. Sift together the flour, baking soda and cinnamon powder. Keep aside.
  2. Whisk the butter, sugar and eggs.
  3. Whisk in the sifted flour until the batter is smooth and creamy in texture.
  4. Lastly fold in the carrots gently.
  5. Pour batter into the buttered baking tin and bake at 180 degrees Centigrade for 30-45 minutes.
  6. Insert a skewer in the centre and if it comes out dry then your cake is ready and you can switch off the oven.
  7. Cool for 10 minutes in the tin and then remove it to cool on wire rack.

You can serve it warm out of the oven or store it in an airtight container either outside or in a fridge and it is good for a week. I had a couple of slices of the cake and it is a less guilty indulgence because of it being a Whole-Wheat Carrot n Cinnamon Cake.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ansi says:

    This looks reaaly exciting. Am gonna try it right away. Thanks a lot for posting. Does it work as well with jaggery too – i feel jaggery might make it slightly gooey?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank u for stopping by Anasuya. It does work with jaggery too. It turns out good with both.I am a new baker so I am not too familiar with all this 🙂

      Like

  2. Thank you Harjeet, I am going to try it with egg and butter replacements , it does look yummy!

    Like

    1. Do share the result Carrie 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

