Kale Frittata

20161105_123928
Kale Frittata

Baking a Kale Frittata is  pretty unusual for me as basically, I am a very traditional, desi cook and I rarely venture into unknown exotic recipes. I stick to my roots and cook Indian food most of the time. But sometimes there is this sudden flash in the pan when I dabble in an original and exploratory recipe which is rare.

Recently I started an organic vegetable garden and started growing kale as I heard it is the king amongst all the healthy greens. I am a very fussy eater and do not try out new dishes even to taste unless I know about it. I have heard and read so much about Kale that I just had to try it out.

20161105_110353
Organic Kale

What is Kale? Kale is a popular vegetable, a member of the cabbage family.

There are many different types of kale. The Kale leaves can be green or purple colour and have either a smooth or curly shape. I am growing the Russian Kale.

It is supposed to be one of the healthiest and most nutritious plant foods in existence! Let me tell you why it is so good.

Kale is loaded with all sorts of valuable elements which have medicinal value.

Kale is said to be the most nutrient foods in the world.

Kale, like other leafy greens, is very high in antioxidants and we all know that antioxidants are the buzz word in food these days.

Kale is a good source of minerals that most of us don’t get enough of and ar usually deficient.

My sole reason to grow and eat Kale is because it has several properties that make it a weight loss friendly food. It is very low in calories but still has considerable bulk that makes you feel full.

Adding Kale to your diet is rather simple. You can basically add it to your salads or use it in recipes of your regular cuisine.

I have heard that Kale chips are a popular snack and they are very easy to make. Just drizzle some extra virgin olive oil or any light oil of your choice on the kale, sprinkle some salt and bake in an oven until crisp and dry. Isn’t that simple and a super healthy snack to munch on?

A lot of people drink smoothies with all sorts of ingredients and you can add kale too to boost the nutritional value. (For the love of God I can never think of having these smoothies!)

I am a vegetarian and lactose intolerant too and as I want to dramatically enhance my nutrient intake, I have started loading up on Kale.

I harvested the Kale leaves and gingerly munched on one leaf to check how it tasted. It was actually nice and crispy and can be good in salads but I wanted to make something awesome. I stood pondering in the kitchen and ended up making an easy peasy Kale frittata! Yes, I eat eggs and I think that they are such an amazing addition to any dish. What is a Frittata? It is an egg-based Italian dish similar to an omelette or quiche, enriched with additional fresh ingredients such as meats, cheeses, vegetables or even leftovers. Frittata roughly means fried although they are just baked eggs.You can use spinach if you do not have kale but it would taste different.

Recipe for Kale Frittata

Ingredients

Bunch of Kale leaves

4 eggs

2 onions sliced fine

4 pods garlic sliced fine or crushed

½ tsp turmeric

½ tsp chilli flakes

½ tsp mixed herbs like oregano, thyme, basil.

1tbsp olive oil or any vegetable oil

Little butter to grease your casserole

1 tbsp of fresh cream or 1/4th cup milk

2 tbsp of shredded mozzarella or parmesan cheese.

½ cup of water

Salt to taste

Few pine nuts or walnuts

kale-frittattakale-frittatta5kale-frittatta420161105_12025520161105_12223520161105_123603

Method

Chop the onions and garlic pods finely. In a skillet pour the olive oil and add the onions. If you have an oven-proof skillet then this dish is much easier to prepare but I don’t, so I finished the baking in a Pyrex dish. Sprinkle a little salt over the onions so that they roast nicely.

In the meantime, you can chop your Kale leaves. Wash and rinse them nicely. Kale has a thick stem and if you want to you can keep it or remove it like I did. Fold the leaf in half, lay it on the chopping board and trim out the stem which cuts easily. Do this to all the leaves and then roll them tightly and chop into thin ribbons.

Meanwhile, the onions are nicely done, golden brown in fact so it’s time to add the garlic and sauté a little. Add the chopped Kale and let it cook till all the juice runs out and the kale is done. You can sprinkle a little salt as that would help in the leaves releasing more water. If the Kale doesn’t cook in its own water then add half a cup of water.

In the meantime, break the eggs in a bowl; add the cream or milk, salt, turmeric and chilli powder if you want. I added chilli flakes.

The Kale would have been done by this time. If you are using an oven-proof skillet then pour the eggs in the Kale and cook until the eggs are done at the bottom. Sprinkle the shredded cheese and transfer the skillet to a preheated oven and bake.

If you are using a glass bowl then grease an ovenproof dish and transfer the cooked Kale into the dish, pour the eggs and sprinkle the cheese and mixed herbs. Top with some pine nuts or walnuts for a little more crunch.Bake in the oven till the eggs are cooked nicely brown and crusty at 250 degrees for ten minutes approximately.

If you are a cheese lover then garnish with thinly sliced cheese. Cut the frittata like a pie and serve with Garlic bread or any bread of your choice. I made a whole wheat flat bread and cut it into segments and placed a frittata piece over it.

I took a small bite of the frittata and was pleasantly surprised by the soft aromas and flavours bursting in my mouth. It looks attention-grabbing and is easy to cook.Try the Kale Frittata to impress yourself and the family.

20161105_125012

img_20161105_173137
Kale Frittata

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks delicious, will have to try it soon!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Cynthia. It was delicious if I may say so myself 🙂 You can add your own spices and ingredients according to your taste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

