Recipe for Paneer Bhurji or Scrambled Cottage Cheese

upload_-1
Paneer Bhurji

Paneer bhurji or Scrambled Cottage cheese is very popular in North Indian meals and is made from crumbled or grated paneer. Bhurji is like scrambled eggs but with the addition of sautéed chopped onions, chilies, and other spices.It is my comfort food and I make Paneer Bhurji when I am missing my mom and  wanting to eat something soft, creamy, a little tangy and a little spicy, all tastes that would bring back my memories with my mom.

Paneer Bhurji is a close clone of Anda bhurji; just that here the scrambled eggs are replaced by scrambled Paneer or cottage cheese. It is usually served with parantha or leavened bread.I even make sandwiches with Paneer bhurji. Do try them out they are really yummy and filling. Paneer bhurji can be served at breakfast or any other meal and it is a staple food for Punjabis in North India. It is a simple, easy, slightly spicy dish that tastes great even with bread!  When I saw Masala Dosas stuffed with Paneer bhurji in Delhi I cringed at first but then I realized that it is great fusion food isn’t it? While making paneer bhurji do remember to use fresh Paneer or cottage cheese, and serve the bhurji immediately after making.

I use homemade Paneer.It is easy to make and you can make it to.Recipe for making  .Paneer

Recipe for Paneer Bhurji or Scrambled Cottage Cheese

Ingredients:

200gms grated or crumbled Paneer (cottage cheese)

1 tbsp ghee or butter

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp ginger-garlic chopped or paste (optional)

2 finely chopped onions

2 chopped or pureed tomatoes

½ cup green peas fresh or frozen.

2 green chilies

1/2 tsp pav bhaji masala

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1/2 tsp chili powder

2 tbsp milk or fresh milk

1 tbsp finely chopped coriander

1 tbsp Kasuri Methi

Salt to taste

upload_-1(31)
I like to prep my ingredients
upload_-1(33)
These colors are the same as my national flag and I am proud to display them through my food.

paneer

paneer1-001upload_-1(11)

Method

Heat the ghee or butter in a wok or pan and add the cumin seeds once it is hot.

When the cumin crackle, add the ginger=garlic paste till golden brown.

Now add the onions and sauté on a high flame till they golden brown. Add the green chilies and crush the Kasuri methi in your palm and add to the onions.

I love my green peas in everything and I add them to the roasted onion.

Add the finely chopped or pureed tomatoes and cook till the butter bubbles on the edges of the gravy. Now add the turmeric, chili powder, and salt. Add ½ cup water to make a thick gravy.

I like to grate my Paneer as it is then evenly soft and of one consistency. You can crumble it if you prefer that. Add the grated Paneer to the gravy and add the pav bhaji masala.

Stir in the Paneer to blend well into the gravy for a couple of minutes.

I always saw my mom adding a little milk to a few dishes and they turned out all the more tasty. She used to add 2 tbsp milk to the Paneer bhurji she used to make and I still do the same.

The milk helps the Paneer to make a homogenous mixture with the gravy. Your Paneer bhurji is ready to serve. Just garnish with fresh coriander leaves and serve hot with a parantha like I did and some fresh crunchy cucumber salad.

upload_-1(10)

If you want to make an easier version then chuck out the ginger-garlic paste, cumin and even tomato puree. Just saute the onions and chopped tomato with green chili and add the paneer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

