Flower Cocktail made with Rhododendron or Buransh

flower
Rhododendron /Buransh

Summer is the perfect time to ‘drink to the gills’. I have been posting many summer drinks that are age old and have been handed down since ages. Now I am sharing a drink that I tasted in the Himalayas; the land of gods which is known for its Valley of Flowers. I was charmed by the local beverage Buransh. While on a Writer’s Retreat at Faraway Renz, I was lucky enough to taste a Flower Cocktail-Rhododendron or Buransh flower-based drink. It was a welcome drink and I thought it was a Roohafza at first but then when I got a whiff of the flowery aroma, I was curious and asked what it was.The local name was Buransh and it was made from the rhododendron flower. Buransh is the state flower  of Uttarakhand.

I am very picky when it comes to trying out new food and drink. I sniffed at the deep Magenta colored drink and found the aroma very pleasing and it was love at first sip!.

After two days of work, we all were chilling out and chatting in the courtyard of the Renz. The others were having vodka, whisky or cocktails but I refrained from taking anything. Suddenly Kalyani who had hardly exchanged any words with me till now asked me if I would like to try a new cocktail with Buransh flower.She made me a flower -based potion with lime–mint—Shweppes- Buransh, spiked with a dash of Vodka.

mint-leaf-1163852_960_720

Schweppes.jpg_200x200

20150206_080738

The result was a cocktail topped with mint leaves and ice. I have seen that many people no longer drink to get sloshed; they want to open up their taste buds to new experiences. This has led to bartenders, the world over; get creative experimenting with new ingredients and mixes. Flower Cocktail-Rhododendron or Buransh is one such creation.

IMG-20160626-WA0002

A regular vodka or gin can give a summery spin with the refreshing taste and aroma of flowers. This cocktail was a sensory treat appealing to my eyes, nose, and taste buds.

In peak summer, after a long hard day’s work, an aroma-filled flower drink like, Flower Cocktail-Rhododendron or Buransh can appease your senses. Why don’t you try a cocktail with your choice of flower and share the experience with me?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Eli says:

    I don’t drink, but the photos you took of the cocktail are making my mouth water!

    Like

    1. Thank u Eli…even I do not drink but that was one great cocktail with just a dash of Vodka. The taste of the flower extract was divine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

