Aloo ki sabzi or Stir Fried Potatoes

Cooking for One

upload_-010

Aloo ki sabzi or Stir Fried Potatoes is easy and tasty.Everybody likes potatoes, isn’t it? Potatoes are my all time favorite vegetable. Yes, I know they are full of carbs but if they are not fried like chips or French fries they are not so unhealthy. They actually are a source of protein, vitamin C and B, minerals and of course complex carbohydrates.

Potatoes are multi-talented; you can twist them into so many things – dry stir fry like I made, gravy potatoes, potatoes in their jackets, mashed potatoes, potato salad, baby potatoes fried, dum aloo. I have been a very fussy eater since childhood and mom used to slip in potatoes in any form so that I would not go hungry. Potato sandwich was a favorite and so was aloo parantha, masala dosa as it had potatoes in it, Puri-aloo, and mom-made aloo ki sabzi.

Cooking for one can be very boring sometimes and when you are not in the mood to cook an elaborate meal for yourself then just temper a few boiled potatoes and you are ready to go. Today was one of those days and I really needed some comfort food and potatoes are my comfort.

What sets this curry apart from other aloo curry recipes is its dry yet spicy taste and fine blend of North and South Indian spices that give out a unique aroma that is simply irresistible.

I have very grave and complex, mixed identity dilemma. As I said earlier, I am a North Indian by my genes but I was born and lived all my life in South India. I do not know when my eating and cooking habits got mixed up. Mom used to only temper the potatoes with cumin and garnished with fresh coriander but when I cook aloo tadka, the boiled and peeled potato cubes are tossed in a typical south Indian tempering of cumin and mustard seeds, green and red chilies, and finally a generous spread of garden fresh curry leaves.

Recipe for Aloo ki sabzi or Stir Fried Potatoes

INGREDIENTS:

4 Medium Potatoes boiled and cubed

1 tbsp – Oil

1/2 tsp – Cumin Seeds

1/2 tsp – Mustard Seeds

1/4 tsp – Turmeric Powder

1/2 tsp – Red Chili Powder

2 Dried Red chilies

1 Slit Green chili

Salt to taste

upload_-002upload_-004upload_-005

METHOD:

Peel potatoes and dice into cubes.

In a wok or pan heat oil, add mustard and cumin seeds and allow to splutter. Add the slit green chili and dry red chilies. Add the curry leaves and then add the red chili powder and the turmeric powder. This could irritate your nose and induce sneezing (which is actually good) I add these to the tempering as it gives a nice color and flavor to the potatoes.

Add potatoes, salt and sauté till the tempering is mixed well into the potatoes. Toss on high flame and remove from fire, garnish with fresh coriander leaves.

Tip: Boil potatoes and store them in the refrigerator and use them as and when you want to.

Serve hot potato fry with roti (flat leavened bread) pickle, salad and your meal is ready in a jiffy. I do not mind eating with rice or even stuffed in a sandwich.

Aloo ki sabzi or Stir Fried Potatoes is perfect cooking for one.Don’t you think so?

upload_-011

 

 

.

Leave a Reply

