Easy Cooking Idea for Singles #54-Shahi Tukda or Sweet Bread

IMG_8257

This Easy Cooking Idea for Singles #54-Shahi Tukda or Sweet Bread is a quick fix dessert for when your sweet tooth is craving salvation or when you have sudden guests for dinner.

Shahi Tukda is a rich Mughlai dessert recipe that is prepared using bread and most of us have bread at home all the time. The genuine version of Shahi Tukda has the use of full-fat milk and deep frying the bread in ghee (clarified butter) and dousing it in the condensed milk or rabdi. I learnt to make simple and easy shahi tukda from my mom. Fusion cuisine is a combination of different culinary traditions but for me, it’s according to my convenience and innovation.

The connotation of ‘shahi’ is royal and tukda is ‘a piece’ so shahi tukra literally means a royal piece giving you a feeling of tasting a royal dessert fit for a king or queen.

The authentic shahi tukra recipe is high in calories as the bread is deep fried  in ghee and soaked in high fat condensed milk. This is a heavy, rich dessert particularly meant for special occasions. I usually cut it into triangles but for the kids, I used to lure them to eat it by cutting then into different shapes with cookie cutters.

Mine is a lighter version as I fry the bread slices in oil and dunk it in sugar syrup. I usually use wheat bread when I make it for myself but today I used regular sandwich bread.

It has taste, aroma and crunchiness and is a universal favorite.

Ingredients:

4 slices bread cut in triangle shape

1 cup sugar

½ cup water

Oil for frying

2 cardamoms crushed

Few thinly sliced almonds.

IMG_8247IMG_8248IMG_8249IMG_8250

IMG_8252IMG_8253

Method:

Cut the bread into triangles, you will get 4 pieces in each bread slice. You can trim the edges but I like the crispy ends.

Take a pan and make a syrup with the water and sugar. Add the crushed cardamom for a heady aroma.

Heat the oil and fry the bread slices till they are golden brown. Dip each bread slice in the sugar syrup and place it on a serving tray.

Sprinkle the chopped almonds over the sweet bread.

Shahi tukra can be served warm or chilled, according to the season or your mood. I like it warm.

If I have guests then I serve it fresh cream.

This Easy Cooking Idea for Singles #54-Shahi Tukda or Sweet Bread is absolutely easy and is always a winner. Do try it and share it with me.

IMG_8259

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks so yum! Another recipe for me to bookmark and try. ☺ Thank you for sharing Harjeet your recipes are truly a treasure.

    Like

  2. Thank u Natalija…Feel so good to hear such words 🙂 Its a very easy simple recipe but really yummy

    Like

  3. Www.MySassySelf.com says:

    This looks great! I love the step by step pics, too =)

    Like

    1. Thank u Jenny 🙂 The step by step makes it easy for novice cooks to follow as this series if for singles 🙂

      Like

  4. Kalpana says:

    I love the Asli shahi tukda!! Which are sadly off limits now:)) like you said…calorie counting folks we are!! Your jhatpat one sounds yummy too!!

    Like

  5. Yes Kalpana…we all like that but as u said…too many cals…try this..it is quite yummy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

