DIY-Marker Mug Painting

DIY-Marker Mug Painting

Collages

I am a typical Aquarian with an eye for detail and for all things pretty. I am a little artistic too but not really good enough to go professional as I never had any training. I am a Jill of all trades but a master of none. I made envelopes out of old greeting cards and I have done a few oil paintings too. I can sew a good enough design for myself or even a baby blanket. I can even make decent candles.

IMG-20130801-WA0007-001

Recently I saw some mugs in a swanky store and I really liked them but the price tags were way beyond my pocket. But I couldn’t get them out of my head and decided to make them myself. One fine day I ended up buying plain mugs at a store. I bought some permanent ceramic markers and started painting my own personalized mugs!

Mugs-001

There are hundreds of swoon-worthy mug designs in the market but painting one yourself is sublime. It is definitely a fun thing to create a fancy mug and gift it to your loved ones. Let me tell you how I did them.

Firstly buy some white or plain mugs. You can find them in supermarkets or any crockery store.

Get some ceramic markers. I got them online. Pick the color according to your mug. Usually, one color looks bold and good but then sometimes a couple of colors together look great. Buy the basic colors; black, green, red yellow and more if you want some particular colors.

Wipe the mugs clean. Decide the design and start drawing what you want to put on the mug. It could be anything; a picture, a cute animal or cartoon or just a short inspirational quote. In India, you do not get stencils for the drawing, so I just took a pencil and drew the picture on the mug and then used the markers.

Once you finish drawing let the mug dry for a few hours and then bake it in the oven for 45 minutes at 350 degrees F.  Do not preheat the oven; place the mug before heating it up and after baking let it cool down inside on its own.

Hand-wash the mug gently.

That was easy, wasn’t it? Well, then why don’t you try  out Mug painting too?

Esh

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna's World says:

    This is a great post!! I love doing things like this! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Thank u so much for ur kind words Anna 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

