Easy Cooking Ideas for Singles # 41- Vegetable Corn Soup

Easy Cooking Ideas for Singles # 41- Vegetable Corn Soup

IMG_6280

Another Easy Cooking Ideas for Singles # 41- Vegetable Fresh Corn Soup is on my menu at least once a week. There is nothing comparable to an, extremely comforting large bowl of piping hot soup on a wintry day. Soup is really easy-peasy and one of the easiest meals to prepare. It is also tremendously adaptable to whatever ingredients you have.

Corn as you know by now is one of my favorite ingredients and I use it very often.  It is an all-time favorite snack of many Indians, this crunchy delicious and roasted corn or butta is the best bet during monsoons. Packed with many nutrients, there are further reasons to eat it rather than its taste and flavor. Corn is rich in beta-carotene and other antioxidants which keeps your skin healthy and prevents signs of ageing. So, the next time you bite into a corn remember that it’s going to make you look young J Corn helps in reducing cholesterol and also prevents your arteries from getting blocked. This in turn lowers your risk of heart disease. I like it just because I like the smoky flavor of roasted corn and the boiled version is second best.

Sweet corn is said to be genetically modified, but I do not want to argue on that as I do not know for certain.  We had been having Sweet corn soup at the restaurants childhood (mom never made it at home) and later when I started making it at home, we used to buy a tin of sweet corn kernels swimming in a mass of corn flour. It is easy to make soup with a tin but then don’t know what goes inside it. To cut down my misgivings, I started using fresh boiled corn to make soup.

I boil the corn and shear it with a knife (it comes off easily), you don’t have to shell it with your hand if you do not have a corn Sheller. Soup can be very filling and healthy winter meal. I have a big bowl of steaming hot bowl of soup for dinner. Adding soup to my diet helps to increase my veggie intake.

Ingredients

1.Boiled and shelled corn

4 cups water

5 French beans chopped finely

1 Carrot finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon pepper powder

Salt to taste

1 tsp Vinegar

1tsp green chilli sauce

1tsp tomato sauce

½ tsp soy sauce

3 tablespoons Corn flour/ corn starch mixed in ¼ cup milk

Few spring onion greens

1 tsp sugar

Blog2

Method

Boil the corn and shear it with a knife.  If the corn is hard then churn it once in the chopper.

Boil 4 cups and add the boiled corn to it. Once it boils nicely, add the chopped carrot and beans.

Now add the vinegar, salt, sugar. Then slowly add the cornstarch mixed in milk and stir nicely till it thickens. Add the sauces and pepper powder.

Garnish with spring onion greens and serve hot. I used my garden fresh garlic greens.

I have reached my 41st recipe in the Easy Cooking Ideas for Singles. Here is cheering myself to many more.

IMG_7813

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nkechi Ajaeroh says:

    I love your recipes! Yum!
    Thanks for sharing, as always I enjoy reading your post and love the things you share!
    I am definitely going to this vegetable corn soup.
    All the best,
    Kechi.

    Like

    1. I am honored by your comments Kechi. Thank u so much! I love writing 🙂 Do try it and share your recipe :*

      Like

  2. Kalpana says:

    This is my favourite too! Especially in winters …any clear soup with loads of veggies is the first choice, both filling and nutritious 🙂

    Like

  3. Yes Kalpu! I like having soups as they are a wholesome nutritious meal. My dinner is mainly soups.If it is summer then I switch on the AC and have it :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

