Tomato Soup with Toast

 

IMG_7751

After the Radish Paranthas( burp!) it was time to come up with Easy cooking idea, so Tomato Soup with Toast it was. Well, technically we are in winter season though tropics are always warm. If you are following breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince then dinner should be frugal, isn’t it? Time to bring on some Veggie soup! Now don’t be surprised, a sure you know that soups are a great option nutritionally and a light meal for dinner.(I can hear the murmurs from the non-vegetarians deriding veggie soups )

Vegetable soup on a regular basis is the best way to pile up on nutrition for those wanting to shed a couple of kilos, substituting dinner with a vegetable-based soup like Tomato Soup with Toast is an excellent way to do it.

Of course, homemade soups are what I am talking about. This way you can choose the type and amounts of vegetables that you use to make your soup and add minimum salt to it. Packet soups bought off the shelf are high on additives and salts that play havoc with your system. No idea what kind of starch they use to thicken the soup too. It is especially harmful to growing kids. I do not remember ever buying a packet of soup till date.

Today’s  Tomato Soup with Toast is again what I found in the refrigerator. I am impulsive and do not plan my meals, anything that is wholesome and fuss free to make is fine with me when I am alone. I had tomatoes, carrot, onion, cabbage, mushroom and I was ready to go!

Recipe for Tomato Soup with Toast

Ingredients

4 tomatoes chopped

2 carrots chopped

1 onion sliced

1 small cup shredded cabbage

½ inch piece cinnamon

1 black cardamom

½ tsp pepper

Salt to taste

1 spoon cream (optional)

IMG_7744

IMG_7742

IMG_7741

IMG_7745

IMG_7747

Method

Chop all the vegetables in big pieces.

Cook them in a pressure cooker with 2 cups of water.

Close the cooker and let the pressure build. Once the whistle blows 3 times switch off the stove and let the pressure leave the cooker on its own. Open the cooker and once the vegetables have cooled down a bit, remove the cinnamon and cardamom.

Puree the vegetables in the mixer jar.

Pour into a pan and add the chopped mushrooms and let it boil. Once the mushrooms are done, season the soup with salt and pepper.I have not added any thickener like corn starch not have I sieved the soup. It is a wholesome, pure goodness soup!

Spoon the ready soup into a bowl and garnish with coriander. Add a spoon of fresh cream or butter for enhanced richness but not if you are watching your waistline! As a kid, I used to have my soup with lots of croutons!! sigh!! Can’t afford to eat fried bread now!

Serve piping hot Tomato Soup with crisp brown bread Toast.

IMG_7750

Did  you like this Tomato Soup with Toast? Then please do hit the like button below or better still leave me a note.

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I love making soups. Tomato soup is one of my favourites. I have a recipe on my own blog too. I’ve never made tomato soup this way so it’s on my to try list for the winter months! ☺

    Like

    1. It’s my pleasure Natalija.Hope you like the taste of my recipe.I am going to search for your recipe 🙂

      Like

  2. Kalpana says:

    This is my go to comfort food:)) I’ve never added black cardamom though ….is it what is known as badi ilaichi in Hindi?

    Like

  3. Yes Kalpana…badi elaichi….it adds a subtle flavour which is really good

    Like

Leave a Reply

