Easy to cook ideas for singles #22- Lotus Seed or Makhana Snack

Easy to cook ideas for singles #22- Lotus Seed or Makhana Snack

IMG_7002

Easy to cook for singles @22- Lotus Seed or Makhana Snack is just a healthy, nutritive alternative for the junk chips and other snacks available in the market. You must have heard of people having a sweet tooth but strangely unique specimen that I am, I have a salt tooth! I need my salt fix and can never think of a low salt diet. I am lucky that my BP is always on the low side, don’t know what would have happened if it was on the high.

IMG_7008

I eat a balanced breakfast and light lunch and dinner. I avoid eating rice and roti, but I need to snack in the evening with my green tea and as I sleep very late, I tend to attack the kitchen for a midnight nibble. I just need munchies and what better way than to make your own, easy, wholesome and nourishing snacks.

I was not overly fond of Lotus Seeds or Makhanas until I read about its many nutritional qualities and I ventured to taste it and well it was quite good if I may say so myself. Makhana or lotus seed is an Asian water plant, mainly grown for its edible seeds. They are white and round in shape and look like popcorn. It is mostly grown in wetlands, ponds and lakes. It is considered to b easily digestible and having good nutritional content (good for my delicate tummy)

Makhana strengthens the heart and is very useful in anemia. It is also an anti-oxidant and helps in regulating blood pressure Research says it is effective in treating insomnia and many other health benefits!

Roasted Makhana

Ingredients:

250gms Makhana

2 tsp ghee or oil

Salt to taste

1 tsp black Pepper or red chilli powder

½ tsp turmeric

IMG_7004

IMG_7007

Heat the ghee in a wok and add the Makhana. Roast the makhanas till they are crisp and crunchy and then add the salt chilli powder and turmeric. It takes around ten minutes to reach the crispy stage, so please keep stirring as they could get burnt. Cool and store in an air-tight container.  They are addictive like popcorn so I don’t think you can store them 🙂 I kept popping in one after the other while roasting them.

Easy to cook for singles @22- Lotus Seed or Makhana Snack is a healthier alternative to popcorn and chips, so why not give it a try.

IMG_7011

IMG_7014

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kalpana says:

    You are my saviour from heaven!!! How I’ve curtailed and suffered the pangs to reach out for a salty savoury to go with my tea :(( No more :))))). Makhana roast it is..jotted on my grocery list..thank you! thank you!

    Like

    1. Hahahah……same here…I keep looking for something salty, crispy and not fried 🙂 and thank you for being by best follower!

      Like

Leave a Reply

