Easy cooking ideas for singles #19- Stir-Fried Bengal gram or Black Chana

Easy cooking ideas for singles #19- Sprouted Bengal gram or Black Chana

IMG_6493

Having been born in a business family dealing with iron spare parts of buses and trucks, we heard that giving black chana as a donation is good for us. We lived right above my Dad’s store and every Saturday afternoon beggars made their appearance in large numbers on the street. My mom and my aunt would soak a large quantity of chana the night before or early morning, boil and add spices to it, to be served to the beggars. One of the servants would stand and dole out bowls of chana to the steady stream of beggars. My cousins and I used to fight over who would serve next. We would keep serving and pop in a handful of chana into our own mouths as it used to be irresistible.

Bengal Gram, also known as Kala chana, is widely regarded as a very important pulse, due to its nutritional properties. It contains a good amount of iron, sodium and selenium in addition to small doses of manganese, copper and zinc. A handful of Bengal gram is a very good source of fibre and folic acid and if it is sprouted it is a great source of vitamins and B-complex.

Chana also has certain medicinal properties. You can always soak handful gram overnight and then have them raw in the morning. I used to place boiled chana in front of my kids, who as infants loved to pick up one boiled chana after another and roll it over the couple of teeth they had.

Bengal gram flour or Besan is what I use to remove dead skin cells which lead to skin rejuvenation and  also makes my skin smoother, softer and tighter. Besan is a bit harsh; you need to mix it with milk, cream or yoghurt before applying it on your face or body. It is an excellent exfoliating agent and it is an integral part of my beauty regimen.

In my early memories of childhood, mom served stir fried chana for breakfast or as a healthy snack. I miss my mama’s cooking! I try to make it just like her, but there is something missing…her love I guess. My daughter has inherited almost the same taste buds and when she was home recently, her breakfast was Chana and Gulab jamun!

IMG_6491

Ingredients:

2 cups chana soaked and sprouted

2 dry red chillies

Few curry leaves

1tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp Olive Oil

Salt to taste

½ tsp turmeric

½ tsp red chilli powder

Few Coriander leaves for garnishing

 

Cooking

IMG_6487

IMG_6488

 

Method:

Heat a wok and add the olive oil. Once the oil is hot add the dry red chillies, cumin and mustard seeds.  Then add the curry leaves and let them all splutter. Add the turmeric and chilli powder and then the soaked chana and stir nicely.  Add salt, cover  and cook on low flame, till it is soft. I like it crunchy and roasted so I cook it on high flame till it’s done. Garnish with fresh coriander leaves and serve with toasted bread or just as it is with a cup of tea or coffee, whichever you prefer.

Believe me, you will find this Easy cooking ideas for singles #19- Stir-Fried Bengal gram or Black Chana really yummy and tasty.Do try it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kalpana says:

    In this simple and routine act in your childhood there are a host of things being taught….empathy towards your fellow men, healthy eating and bonding over food between co-sisters and siblings….touching post as far as I’m concerned…its moved me by its simple telling!

    Like

    1. OMG…u r reading between the lines Kalpana….thank u 🙂 Stay blessed

      Like

Leave a Reply

