Corn Salad in Cucumber Boats

 

Corn salad in Cucumber Boats

12047396_10153546507350516_2055271180_n-002

Here is another gorgeous and light cooking idea for Singles-Corn salad in Cucumber Boats. Sundays are special and you can make it special by giving yourself a culinary delight.  I truly believe that we eat first with our eyes, then with our nose and lastly with our mouth. Food is so colourful and if the presentation and plating are attractive then you are in for a scrumptious delight.

Colour plays a major role in vegetarian food.

Textures and shapes too play a role. If the food is not matched properly then you can end up with a jumbled mass. Shapes come from how you design the food and the garnishing.

The plating too is important. If your porcelain plate is chipped it is surely going to put you off the food you are going to eat off it.

I tumbled out of bed, a little later than my usual time. I usually don’t have a yoga class on Sunday, but I haven’t been practising at home as I have a muscle tear in my ankle. I did a short routine and then a stroll in the garden to wish my green friends. I felt like making something exotic and I remembered coming across a very attractive corn salad(thank you lady) and I decided that am gonna make that. The colours are so vibrant and the flavour of a little sweet corn with the tangy lime and the crunchy cucumber makes my tongue drool.

upload_-002

Corn salad in Cucumber Boats

Ingredients:

2 Cups Sweet corn (boiled)

1 onion chopped finely

1 Tomato chopped finely

1/2 Green capsicum chopped finely

1/2 Green capsicum chopped finely

1/2 Red bell pepper chopped finely

1/2 Cucumber chopped finely

Chopped fresh coriander

1 Tablespoon lime juice

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 Teaspoon dried oregano herb

1 Teaspoon chopped green chilli (optional)

Salt according to taste

2 Fresh whole cucumbers

Procedure:

Cut and chop all the vegetables

Boil the frozen sweet corns for few minutes and strain them.

To a pan add the olive oil and sauté the peppers a bit. Now take a bowl add steamed corns, onion, tomato, salt, green chilli, coriander and oregano. Squeeze the lime juice and toss all the ingredients nicely.

Your Corn salad in Cucumber Boats is ready but not your serving….

upload_-004

Cucumber Boats

If you want it to look like a salad from a gourmet meal then take 2 fresh Cucumbers, wash and peel it like in zebra lines. On the peeled area, scrape the serrated side of your peeler knife to get a ridged pattern. Cut cucumber into roundels and scoop out the inside to form a well. Fill these cucumber cups with the prepared corn salad. I took my cake stand and served the cucumber wedges on it. It looked so delectable that I started chomping on it right in the kitchen.But then I controlled myself and laid the table.  Green banana leaf replica table-mats made a huge tumbler of some lemon iced tea and sat down to have my lunch in style.Mind you this was my lunch so I had a bowl of the Corn salad in Cucumber Boats too along with the cucumber serving.

Tip: do not throw away the scooped out cucumber balls. Mash it and use it as a refreshing face pack with Fuller’s earth.

I will post the pictures of how to make the cucumber wedges later.

If you like this easy cooking idea for singles then please let me know, Do share your own version when you make it.

upload_-1 (2)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. verushka143 says:

    Colorful and very healthy.Thank you for sharing x

    Like

    1. Pleasure is all mine 🙂 Any good thing needs to be shared, doesn’t it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

