Easy cooking ideas for singles #4 Daliya or Oatmeal Porridge

Easy cooking ideas for singles #4

It is day 4 of easy cooking ideas for singles and the recipe for today is a healthy Oatmeal Porridge (not sweet mind you). I follow the dictum of “Breakfast like a King, Lunch like a Prince, and Dine like a Pauper” to the T. Breakfast for me is the most important meal of the day. I cannot do without breakfast. Lunch for me is not very heavy either- a simple vegetable and a cup of yoghurt is what I eat. And dinner has to be very light and early. I love the oatmeal porridge (daliya) that I have on most, week nights.

IMG_6230-001

It is a very nutritious and protein rich meal in itself. Just dry roast the wheat oatmeal and add it to sautéed and boiled vegetables.

Oatmeal Porridge or Daliya

Ingredients:

1 small cup Oatmeal (wheat daliya)

3 cups water

1 onion chopped

1 potato chopped

1 tomato chopped

2 tbsp green peas

1 carrot

4 French beans

2 green chillies slit

Salt to taste

1 tsp Chilli powder

1 tsp olive oil

Coriander leaves to garnish

foodfood1

Method:

In a kadhai (wok) dry roast the oatmeal and keep aside. Add the onion, green chillies, potato and green peas and sauté. (You can add any vegetables of your choice. I usually add carrot and beans but I had run out of them last night.) I usually make do with what I have. Once the veggies are a bit done, add the salt, chilli powder and the water. Once the water comes to a boil, add the roasted oatmeal and stir. I don’t like it very thick as I like to have it slurpy in a bowl. Add coriander and your dinner is ready to eat.

Now isn’t that a real easy and healthy cooking idea for singles?

Leave a Reply

